Caron® Big Cakes™ Yarn

$9.99
ea.

Product Actions

Add to cart options
Item must be ordered in multiples of 2 This item is sold individually in store.

Caron® Big Cakes™ Yarn

Item # 10527482 
$9.99
ea.

Promotions


Save 20% with code 20MADEBYYOU See Details
Valid Online. EXCLUSIONS: Great Buy items; clearance; doorbusters; MichaelsPro Packs; custom framing; beverages & candy; books & magazines; gift cards; LEGO; sewing machines; craft technology & accessories; Cricut, Silhouette; Christmas trees. Exclusions subject to change.

Caron® Big Cakes™ Yarn

$9.99
ea.

Promotions


Save 20% with code 20MADEBYYOU See Details
Valid Online. EXCLUSIONS: Great Buy items; clearance; doorbusters; MichaelsPro Packs; custom framing; beverages & candy; books & magazines; gift cards; LEGO; sewing machines; craft technology & accessories; Cricut, Silhouette; Christmas trees. Exclusions subject to change.

Product Actions

Add to cart options
Minimum Order
Item must be ordered in multiples of 2.

Description


Caron Big Cakes is a new take on a fan-favorite – Caron Cakes! This new acrylic yarn comes in a bigger ball, with easier care! Ideal for blankets and other home décor projects, try out this wool-free striping yarn.
 
Weight: Medium (4)
 
Contents: 100% Acrylic
Skein Weight: 10.5 oz. / 300 g
Yardage: 603 yd. / 551 m
 
Knitting Gauge:
17 sts - 23 rows = 4” (10 cm)
Crochet Gauge:
13 sc - 14 rows = 4” (10 cm)
 
Suggested Knitting Needle:
5 mm, US - 8
Suggested Crochet Hook:
5 mm, US - H/8
Caron Big Cakes is a new take on a fan-favorite – Caron Cakes! This new acrylic yarn comes in a bigger ball, with easier care! Ideal for blankets and other home décor projects, try out this wool-free striping yarn.
 
Weight: Medium (4)
 
Contents: 100% Acrylic
Skein Weight: 10.5 oz. / 300 g
Yardage: 603 yd. / 551 m
 
Knitting Gauge:
17 sts - 23 rows = 4” (10 cm)
Crochet Gauge:
13 sc - 14 rows = 4” (10 cm)
 
Suggested Knitting Needle:
5 mm, US - 8
Suggested Crochet Hook:
5 mm, US - H/8

Use & Care


Machine wash and dry
Machine wash and dry
jump
Caron Big Cakes is a new take on a fan-favorite – Caron Cakes! This new acrylic yarn comes in a bigger ball, with easier care! Ideal for blankets and other home décor projects, try out this wool-free striping yarn.
 
Weight: Medium (4)
 
Contents: 100% Acrylic
Skein Weight: 10.5 oz. / 300 g
Yardage: 603 yd. / 551 m
 
Knitting Gauge:
17 sts - 23 rows = 4” (10 cm)
Crochet Gauge:
13 sc - 14 rows = 4” (10 cm)
 
Suggested Knitting Needle:
5 mm, US - 8
Suggested Crochet Hook:
5 mm, US - H/8
Caron Big Cakes is a new take on a fan-favorite – Caron Cakes! This new acrylic yarn comes in a bigger ball, with easier care! Ideal for blankets and other home décor projects, try out this wool-free striping yarn.
 
Weight: Medium (4)
 
Contents: 100% Acrylic
Skein Weight: 10.5 oz. / 300 g
Yardage: 603 yd. / 551 m
 
Knitting Gauge:
17 sts - 23 rows = 4” (10 cm)
Crochet Gauge:
13 sc - 14 rows = 4” (10 cm)
 
Suggested Knitting Needle:
5 mm, US - 8
Suggested Crochet Hook:
5 mm, US - H/8
jump
Machine wash and dry
Machine wash and dry
Shipping & Returns
jump

Shipping & Returns

Shipping

Most products may be shipped via standard ground (delivered in 4-6 business days), second day or next day. Orders placed by 11:00 AM Central Time using second day or next day will ship the same day. View Full Shipping Policy and Pricing ›

Returns

If your Michaels.com purchase does not meet your satisfaction, you may return it within two months (60 days) of purchase. To return an item (excluding sample products), the item must be new, unused and in its original packaging. You may return the item to a Michaels store or by mail. View Full Return Policy ›

From the Manufacturer

You May Also Like

jump Customer Reviews
Caron® Big Cakes™ Yarn is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 675.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OKAY TO WORK WITH, NOT AS SOFT AS I WAS EXPECTING I'VE MADE SEVERAL BLANKETS WITH CARON BIG CAKES AFTER PURCHASING A LARGE SUPPLY OF DIFFERENT COLORS. QUITE FRANKLY, I WAS DISAPPOINTED IN THE QUALITY OF THE YARN. IT WASN'T AS SOFT AS I WAS EXPECTING IT TO BE AND THE COLORS AREN'T AS SHARP AS THEY APPEAR ONLINE. THE YARN HAS NO SHEEN WHATSOEVER. I GUESS I'VE BEEN ACCUSTOMED TO CARON SIMPLY SOFT. CARON BIG CAKES AND SIMPLY SOFT AREN'T ALIKE AT ALL. MY ADVICE: CHECK OUT THE YARN IN PERSON. LOOK AT THE COLORS & FEEL THE TEXTURE BEFORE YOU BUY LARGE QUANTITIES.
Date published: 2020-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to work with I loved working with this yarn. The only thing that I didnt like was working with the black color in the ball. It was significantly thinner in spots than the other colors.
Date published: 2020-12-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Extremely disappointed This yarn doesn't change colors. The whole cake is multiple pieces of yarn tied together with knots. The lengths of each color are not consistent so the scarf I'm working on will have color blocks of different lengths.
Date published: 2020-12-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor quality Not happy with abrupt color changes and frequent nots. One had 15 knots and a spot of 10 inches of poorly spun yarn(it separated). I will finish my project but will never ever buy this product again.
Date published: 2020-11-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Patience required The knotting of the yarn defies imagination. Aldo didn't have anymore yarn available.
Date published: 2020-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved mine! I’m not a long time crocheter, just for a year. But I thought this yarn was great. My favorite colorway was the toffee brickle. It’s very soft for a no wool yarn, in my opinion. I made an awesome poncho out of it for my dad and he absolutely loved it. I also used what I had left to make myself a basket and that turned out great as well. I didn’t get too many cakes with knots in them, but those that did only had maybe one or two. And they did try to match up the color changes. I don’t know why this upsets some people because it’s not like it changes color gradually, they are very quick color changes.
Date published: 2020-11-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed again The yarn does not change colors it is tied where the colors meet also some spots of the yarn is so thin that I can't even use it and I have to cut out of a huge chunk of it
Date published: 2020-11-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I like this yarn but we had a big problem I am working with Rainbow Jelly in big cakes and when i opened my last ball that i ordered online -- i pulled my string from the middle and out pops half the cake -- well out of the rainbow of colours -- two of the red rows are missing --- so obviously this was put together as two separate left over balls and returned i am thinking - or they stuff yarn in the center to make the weight right. When you are doing something in a rainbow pattern you expect all the colours. I would have returned it if i wasn't so desperate to finish this -- which i didn't -- still need another skein or two and i won't order online again because if this is what i can expect -- i will get it from the store and check it to make sure all the colours are there and not just put together to make up the weight of the yarn. It was a major frustration i have to say.
Date published: 2020-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the colors so like fall love how the colors blend, the only problem is I didn't buy enough of one color so had to use two different color skeins..but because they have some of the same colors in it, Ilike it.
Date published: 2020-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The product is soft, and crochet nicely Most of time colors are blended but have found a lot of tied together areas not always following color scheme and tied areas make it impossible to hide due to short ends
Date published: 2020-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the colours Made my first blanket out of this yarn and absolutely love the way it turned out however I did find there were a few spots in the yarn where it was extremely frail , not a huge issue
Date published: 2020-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute and Easy to Use I really like this product. The only reason I took a star off is because it isn’t as soft as I’d like it to be. You get a lot of it though for a good price. I also don’t really like how the stripes aren’t all the same length (I think they’re supposed to be but they’re not) and I have to sharpie-in some of the rows that switch colors halfway through. I got Cookie Crumble and plan to buy more colors.
Date published: 2020-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality and value I saw this yarn on sale online and loved the color choices. The yarn pulled effortlessly and cleanly from the cake, thrilling me as the colors changed. There is beautiful stitch definition in my afghans. I hope the recipients are as happy with them as I am! This will be my go-to yarn until I have tried all the shades!!!!!
Date published: 2020-08-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from please show a top view of the balls it would be nice if the larger picture would shoe the top of the yarn. the smaller pictures do not show the colors well
Date published: 2020-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite yarn I’m in Love with yarn it is my favorite blanket yarn and the feel is like magical running through my fingers please come out with more colors and keep them in stock like abundance of it please!!! It breaks my heart when I click and it is out of stock online and in store and deals on it!
Date published: 2020-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Afghan Yarn Ever! More colours Plz This is absolutely The Best yarn for afghans/blankets and hats. I have made several projects with this yarn and every one turned out fantastic! The shadowbox/waffle afghan is our favourite, no picture because the kids took it;) It is heavy, squishy and has Never pilled after multiple washings in the machine. This yarn does not twist or untwist when crocheting. PLEASE, Michaels, get this made in solid colours to coordinate and some way brighter colours would be awesome as so many of the colourways are drab. I miss the gree one that was discontinued. I would buy this year-round if available as always working on one afghan or another.
Date published: 2020-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! This is my favorite yarn! Michaels always ships fast and I usually get it within just a few days, I make blankets with this yarn and it's so soft I just love it!!!
Date published: 2020-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love how the colors run together I made this lovely shawl for my friend in Canada and she loves it . The crochet more conversation shawl from the Crochet crowd
Date published: 2020-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous, bright colors First time user and am using Summer Berry Tarts color. My husband says it's the best of anything I've ever made. Just love this smooth yarn. It has great stitch definition. Two big cakes make a good size afghan. Someone's going to love this Christmas gift!!!!!
Date published: 2020-07-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the yarn Started making an Afghan and can't seem to find the color of carbon big cakes .very disappointing
Date published: 2020-06-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good so far, but with breaks It's my first time buying and crocheting with Caron Big Cakes. I am absolutely in love with the colors. My first project is a shawl and being crocheted in the blueberry torte. I noticed a factory break and tie is the yarn. There is an obvious less amount where spliced back together than there is of the other colors. I may have to rip it out and find more of the
Date published: 2020-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this yarn. I love this yarn and have made 5 Afghans for family members with the Peppercorn color. I would like to make 3 more, using the same yarn but can no longer find it or anything similar. Can anyone help. I would need 9 of the Caron Big Cakes in Peppercorn. Thanks.
Date published: 2020-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from not perfect, but still I love it The yarn was tied at some places instead of just seamlessly changing colors, but the yarn itself holds together nicely. I am very happy with it. I purchased 6 big cakes and will purchase more for other projects.
Date published: 2020-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Total Surprise Just recieved my order today and I can't wait to begin my project.
Date published: 2020-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Summer Berry Tart Love the way the blanket I am making looks. The colors are amazing. Wish there was more in stock.
Date published: 2020-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful colours! I've been using this yarn since I was a beginner, it made working with colours so easy! Crocheted my first scarf with this and I'm currently knitting a blanket with it right now. My favourite brand for yarn, very soft!
Date published: 2020-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great colors! Made a moss stitch blanket and love how it turned out! The colors couldn’t be better for my settee!
Date published: 2020-04-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Yarn The yarn only has 1 picture. You have to see the top. To see what other colors. Ik theres ones at the bottom but you cant make them bigger to really see.
Date published: 2020-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I’m making an Afghan. Love how it’s turning out but ran out and can’t find it.Any suggestions?
Date published: 2020-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I want more Stock more colors especially mint fudge asap it's been a year
Date published: 2020-03-15
  • y_2021, m_5, d_6, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.15
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_674
  • loc_en_US, sid_M10527477, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_michaels