White Gesso by Artist's Loft®

From: $9.99

Product Actions

Add to cart options
  • -
  • +

White Gesso by Artist's Loft®

Item # M10999016 
From: $9.99

Promotions


Save 20% with code 20MADEBYYOU See Details
Valid In-store & Online through 1/30/2021. Exclusions apply.

White Gesso by Artist's Loft®

From: $9.99

Promotions


Save 20% with code 20MADEBYYOU See Details
Valid In-store & Online through 1/30/2021. Exclusions apply.

Details

Variations

Product Actions

Add to cart options
  • -
  • +

Description


Create a great foundation for your paintings with this quality surface primer. This titanium-based white acrylic primer provides a reliable, permanent base that can be used on a variety of porous surfaces, including canvas, wood, panels or paper. Non-yellowing and flexible when dry, no prior sizing is necessary for use.
 
Details:
  • Titanium white
  • Available in multiple sizes
  • Flexible and non-yellowing
  • Nontoxic and acid free
  • Conforms to ASTM D-4236
  • For use with acrylic paints
Create a great foundation for your paintings with this quality surface primer. This titanium-based white acrylic primer provides a reliable, permanent base that can be used on a variety of porous surfaces, including canvas, wood, panels or paper. Non-yellowing and flexible when dry, no prior sizing is necessary for use.
 
Details:
  • Titanium white
  • Available in multiple sizes
  • Flexible and non-yellowing
  • Nontoxic and acid free
  • Conforms to ASTM D-4236
  • For use with acrylic paints
jump
Create a great foundation for your paintings with this quality surface primer. This titanium-based white acrylic primer provides a reliable, permanent base that can be used on a variety of porous surfaces, including canvas, wood, panels or paper. Non-yellowing and flexible when dry, no prior sizing is necessary for use.
 
Details:
  • Titanium white
  • Available in multiple sizes
  • Flexible and non-yellowing
  • Nontoxic and acid free
  • Conforms to ASTM D-4236
  • For use with acrylic paints
Create a great foundation for your paintings with this quality surface primer. This titanium-based white acrylic primer provides a reliable, permanent base that can be used on a variety of porous surfaces, including canvas, wood, panels or paper. Non-yellowing and flexible when dry, no prior sizing is necessary for use.
 
Details:
  • Titanium white
  • Available in multiple sizes
  • Flexible and non-yellowing
  • Nontoxic and acid free
  • Conforms to ASTM D-4236
  • For use with acrylic paints
Shipping & Returns
jump

Shipping & Returns

Shipping

Most products may be shipped via standard ground (delivered in 4-6 business days), second day or next day. Orders placed by 11:00 AM Central Time using second day or next day will ship the same day. View Full Shipping Policy and Pricing ›

Returns

If your Michaels.com purchase does not meet your satisfaction, you may return it within six months (180 days) of purchase. To return an item (excluding sample products), the item must be new, unused and in its original packaging. You may return the item to a Michaels store or by mail. View Full Return Policy ›

From the Manufacturer

You May Also Like

jump Customer Reviews
White Gesso by Artist's Loft® is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 96.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets the job done I’ve used a few brand name white gessos but this once works as well. I initially bought it for a painting class and now I use it for paintings on my own time.
Date published: 2019-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It comes in a nice big tub. I'm so glad to have Michael's here in our town. I was able to get what I need in a good sized tub.
Date published: 2018-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gesso on sale I was gesso a lot. This big tub will last me a couple months & then I’ll need more. but it was on sale & a great sale it was. so I’m very happy to of been at Michael’s & found it on sale Yeehaw...!!!
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for the price I go through this like crazy, and even though there are more premium brands out there with a higher price tag, this does the job for any mixed media project you are doing.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Artist loft is not for true artist I thought to get some cheaper gesso for a small summer project I am doing. I opened this and this and instantly knew this was not true gesso... This is just paint. If you plan to use this cover an image don't bother. I used the whole tub of this just to cover my canvas. You can lay it on thick but you will still be able to see what is underneath. Please just spend a little more money to get something that actually works.
Date published: 2018-07-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as good as others Hi, I'm a former art professor and used to use a huge tub from Utrecht which was much better than this. Yes my usage was to cover painted over canvases, to reuse them- but this gesso is thin and not highly pigmented. Spend the money and get a higher quality as I think I'll need 3 layers, which Iv'e never needed before. Usually two layers gives a great finish.
Date published: 2018-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job I needed it for First time using gesso, and it works good. Just like on the label it takes a few coats, but it does reprime a canvas even though there was old paint beneath it. So helped me save a canvas to make new art on.
Date published: 2018-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product for the price! I am satisfied with this product. It covers well. I always seem to want more pigment but that's just me!
Date published: 2018-06-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from greatly overrated if I wanted liquid gesso, I would have bought it in a bottle. This stuff just runs right out of the jar. Very little pigment so it took more the get the lightening I desired. I am so disappointed with the product that I am going back to Grumbachers gesso. Now that is some thick stuff with lots of pigment!
Date published: 2018-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for mixed media art Works well to prime my mixed media art work because it’s so thick.
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's Gesso I added a little water to thin it down so I would only have a light layer.
Date published: 2018-06-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from just what i was looking for its going to take a couple tries but it all worked out great
Date published: 2018-06-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cracks!! Terrible... cracks everywhere!! Returning it asap. Why would they sell this?
Date published: 2018-05-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very Thick Gesso! The density of this gesso makes it hard to handle.
Date published: 2018-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best result with a broad knife. For best fine detail, you need a lot of gesso. This gesso spreads and finishes very well with a drywall broad knife... Nice and smooth!
Date published: 2018-05-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Right idea for canvas painting As a base good for the canvas top of an outdoor swing in order to paint it Tried just spray paint & the canvas was too porous so Michaels recommendation was the Gesso But when I spray painted the Burgundy color over it ,the color dried pinkish cause of the white base Looks horrible needs several coats of paint to get the right burgundy color Wasted my money on the Gesso & spray paint cans (4)
Date published: 2018-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gesso Giant Excellent to prime canvases. Gallon size is the best! Thick and Rich.
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for priming and mixing So easy to use!! Just shake container and go!! EASY
Date published: 2018-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good gesso It’s my first time using gesso, but I like it and had no issues.
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too watery It’s too watery to hold any kind texture. I added a few small peaked dots but dots flattened out and cracked in multiple spots
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous base Great stuff. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth it The price is great however you get what you pay for, for students will do but if you are serious about your art absolutely not, is full of impurities as you try hard to smooth it out the impurities keep scratching taking you 3 time the work that you should be painting not correcting, I’m throwing 3/4 of it to left to the garbage and getting a professional one from golden. I’ll never buy this again
Date published: 2018-04-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Gesso Review This is not good quality Gesso. It has cracked every time I have tried to use it. I would definitely recommend buying another brand even though this is sold In bulk
Date published: 2018-01-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Gesso I have been using Gesso for over 25 years on all my paintings. So I feel I can speak about this product. The other reviewers are right. This is not real Gesso. It’s too thin and cracks when it dries. I will not be using this brand again. Lesson learned.
Date published: 2018-01-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Do not use with oil paint! Oil paint will soak right into this product and will destroy your painting. Complete waste of a big tub as well as expensive panels and paint. Don't waste your time or money!!!
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Great for texturing canvases working on a project.
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Do not buy This brand of gesso is watery and cracks when it dries! In the past I have always used high quality gesso. Knowing this product is Michael brand I gave it a try. This product disappoints. Do not waste your money because you will be returning to buy your favorite brand gesso after trying this brand.
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product I can mix it with glue and other media: colors, etc
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sometimes cracks Sometimes yellows. Must use thinly. A few layers are required with sanding between
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great! Coats the canvas well in one coat but I always do two.
Date published: 2017-10-09
  • y_2020, m_10, d_23, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_94
  • loc_en_US, sid_M10999016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_michaels